The Nine Protected Characteristics

Promoting Equality and Diversity

There are 9 protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010 and all schools should be able to demonstrate that no form of discrimination is tolerated and that pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics.

The 9 Protected Characteristics are:



•gender reassignment

•marriage and civil partnership

•pregnancy and maternity


•religion or belief


•sexual orientation

protected characteristics tree.jpg


At St Matthew's, rather than teaching all the protected characteristics in every year group, we ensure that our children are given opportunities to develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding through a well-planned and delivered curriculum.

We believe that children should be able to recognise themselves and their circumstances so they can see their lived experiences validated and valued. The charcteristics are taught discretely throughout our wider curriculum and via our picture news assemblies that take place every Monday morning. Children then come together in collective worship in their classrooms throughout the week to discuss their learning and complete tasks related to what they learnt about.